About IISS

IISS

Officially founded in October 2013, the Institute of International and Strategic Studies (IISS), Peking University (PKU) was the former Center of International and Strategic Studies of Peking University established in May 2007. Dai Bingguo, the former State Councilor, was invited by PKU to serve as the honorary president of IISS. IISS is affiliated to the School of International Studies, PKU, and exists as an entity that can use “Peking University” in its name. Its Board of Directors is composed of senior scholars and experts in and out of the PKU, and the president responsibility system is implemented under the leadership of the Board.

IISS aims to promote the development of academic research and policy research related to world politics, international security and global strategy, etc. It focuses on the analysis of international situations that China faces as well as international strategy of related countries, then based on such analysis, publishes or presents research results to relevant authority that are characterized by policy significance and future vision. IISS is committed to providing intellectual support for China’s decision-making of international strategy as well as serving the teaching of relevant subjects. It also leads the public to understand issues related to national security and international strategy in a sound, correct and reasonable way. Its research results include the irregularly published Briefing on International Strategy Studies, the annually published Review of China’s International Strategy (English and Chinese), International Strategy Research Series of Peking University, and research reports entrusted by government sectors, enterprises and public institutions.

In the trend of globalization, we have been witnessing an array of interwoven and interacting issues of politics, economy, military, science, technology, culture, religion and society around the world. The non-traditional security issues, such as ecological environment, public health and natural disasters, are becoming the subjects for international strategy research. IISS, PKU encourages the international strategy research to be done from interdisciplinary and multiple perspectives, striving to make innovation in theory and methodology while focusing on practical issues. IISS values the field research at home and abroad in international strategy study, encourages the completion of the research and presentation of insightful views of practical significance and policy influence on the basis of field research.

IISS has been successfully undertaking and accomplishing many Projects of the National Social Science Fund of China and Major Key Projects of Philosophy and Social Science of the Ministry of Education; it also provides oriented researches and decision-making consultation services for the Foreign Affairs Office of the Communist Party, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the International Department of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, the National Defense University and the Academy of Military Science of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army. The research results have been widely acclaimed.

IISS boasts abundant academic resources for domestic and international study, maintains stable cooperation with well-known think tanks, universities and research institutions at home and abroad. It organizes many high-level domestic and international seminars, focusing on China’s foreign policy, great power strategy, regional security, global governance and other important theories and policy issues. IISS’s researchers often publish professional comments concerning major international issues through various forms to help the public understand the world objectively and rationally. IISS also has tasks of teaching and training in the field of international and strategic studies.


Copyright@2014 Institute of International and Strategic Studies Peking University. All Rights Reserved.

IISS, School of International Studies, PekingUniversity, Haidian District, Beijing 100871, China

Wechat

Mobile Site

Copyright@2014 Institute of International and Strategic Studies Peking University. All Rights Reserved.

研究院简介

北京大学国际战略研究院

北京大学国际战略研究院于2013年10月正式成立,其前身是成立于2007年5月的北京大学国际战略研究中心。原国务委员戴秉国同志应北京大学邀请,担任研究院名誉院长。研究院为北京大学国际关系学院内设的、直接冠名“北京大学”的实体机构,聘请校内外资深学者、专家组成理事会,实行理事会领导下的院长负责制。

北京大学国际战略研究院旨在促进世界政治、国际安全、国家战略等领域的学术研究和政策研究。其重点是对当今中国所处的国际环境以及相关各国的国际战略进行分析,并在此基础上公开发表或向有关方面提交有政策含义的、面向未来的研究成果。研究院致力于为中国的国际战略决策提供智力支持,为相关学科的教学服务,并引导公众全面、准确、理性地认识国家安全与国际战略问题。研究院的研究成果包括不定期发表的《国际战略研究简报》、每年一期的《中国国际战略评论》(中英文版)、 “北京大学国际战略研究丛书”,以及政府部门、企事业单位的委托研究报告等。

在全球化浪潮下,世界范围的政治、经济、军事、科技、文化、宗教、社会问题日益相互交叉、相互激荡。生态环境、公共卫生、自然灾害等诸多非传统安全问题也进入了国际战略的研究视野。北京大学国际战略研究院鼓励跨学科、多重视角的研究课题,在关注现实问题的同时,力图实现理论和方法论的创新。研究院注重国际战略研究的国内外实地调研,提倡在实地调研基础上完成研究项目,提出有现实意义和政策影响的真知灼见。

研究院承担并完成过多项国家社会科学基金项目、教育部哲学社会科学重大攻关项目,并为中央外办、外交部、中联部、解放军国防大学、军事科学院等机构提供定向研究、决策咨询服务,其成果质量得到充分肯定。

研究院拥有丰富的国际和国内学术资源,与全球及国内许多知名智库、高校及研究机构建立了稳固的合作关系。研究院每年围绕中国外交、大国战略、地区安全、全球治理等重大理论和政策问题,举办若干高层次的国际和国内研讨会。本院研究人员经常通过各种形式,就重大国际问题公开发表专业性的评论,帮助公众客观、理性地认识世界。与此同时,研究院也承担国际战略研究领域的教学和培训任务。

Copyright@2014北京大学国际战略研究院 版权所有

地址:北京市海淀区颐和园路五号

官方微信

手机站

Copyright@2014北京大学国际战略研究院 版权所有 地址:北京市海淀区颐和园路五号